PDA

View Full Version : Dish size required for PL football on DM800HD

Kamikaze
2nd December, 2009, 01:03 AM
Hi,

I'm totally new to this and am looking to buy the DM800 HD box predominantly to get (hopefully) premier league football in HD. I have read a bit into it on various forums and have read that where I live (Berkshire, SE England) I can get all the 'big 4' games in SD on European channels with a 1m motorised dish but have not been able to find out if this would be sufficient to receive HD channels or even if being HD would effect the size of dish required.

Please can anyone let me know what kind of size of dish would fit the bill for this and also if anyone has experience of the availability of the big 4 games in HD.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

dowlinr
2nd December, 2009, 09:00 PM
HD or not it won't affect reception. I live in Buckinghamshire on the border of Berks and have an 80cm dish. It works fine for all the big 4. If I was going to start again I'd get a 1m as 16e reception is very weak and I can't get some transponders. Also a 1m in your location would probably enable you to go feed hunting. On mine it's a bit flakey.

For 19e/13e/28e/1w/23.5e it's perfect. I get other sats too but hardly ever need them as it's very likely the big 4 are on one of those I mentioned.

westkill
2nd December, 2009, 11:17 PM
im from this area all works ok on me 1,1m dish ;)

1INSTALL.CO.UK
3rd December, 2009, 12:29 AM
Hi,

I'm totally new to this and am looking to buy the DM800 HD box predominantly to get (hopefully) premier league football in HD. I have read a bit into it on various forums and have read that where I live (Berkshire, SE England) I can get all the 'big 4' games in SD on European channels with a 1m motorised dish but have not been able to find out if this would be sufficient to receive HD channels or even if being HD would effect the size of dish required.