PDA

View Full Version : Alternitive jtag solder points on DM500s

durasoft
14th September, 2008, 06:41 PM
Hello All,
I am in need of assistance reagarding alternitive jtag solder points on my DM500s :giveup:
I have over heated 3 points on the board with the soldering iron and cant make a connection for a wire. Ive looked so hard to see where each track leads to but im struggling. Has anyone any idea where these points lead to.
Are any of them used on the com port header on the board.
As youve guessed im not an expert when it comes to micro soldering lol ;)

Any help please would be very greatful.........

Regards Tony

Fergal
14th September, 2008, 06:42 PM
what numbers are the points that are gubbed

durasoft
14th September, 2008, 06:52 PM
Hi Fergal,
Thanks for quick responce.
The points are 1, 3, and 7 if i can remember.
Im away at the moment so board is not in front of me.
Would it be too much to ask if you know where 1, 3, 7, 9 and 11 would go.

Sorry lol Regards Tony

Fergal
14th September, 2008, 07:12 PM
On the board i had there was tiny holes that went straight through the board between the points and the resistors (see piccie) because the tracks were on the underside of the board so i managed to solder a single strand of wire to each hole(see piccie) it was a right pain to do.
If you take the board out and shine a torch from underneath you can see were some are or were the tracks go.

durasoft
14th September, 2008, 07:26 PM
Thanks for that Fergal, will have to get the microscope out and have a good close up look at the board.
I was wondering if the chip is visible that the boot loader goes in, and that maybe it had terminals for me to solder to.

Thanks Again Tony

durasoft
15th September, 2008, 10:02 AM
Has anyone else got any info as to where i can pickup an alternitive solder points for jtag a DM500s as ive messed 3 up where the points are on the board. I knw :embarassed:

Cheers Tony

jbvid
16th September, 2008, 07:34 PM