PDA

View Full Version : which sat dish??

yamar1
14th September, 2008, 07:14 PM
HI, new to the sat side of things, iv just ordered a openmedia box and need a bit of advice on which dish (size, lnb, motorised or not etc) to buy, bearing in mind im new to satellite. im in the north east of england. Thanks.:hmmmm:

aftermath
14th September, 2008, 07:28 PM
North East here too mate.

The bigger dishes can pick up more sats.

but i got myself a 1m one which is what i wopuld advise you to get.

you can get 99% of sats between 45 east and 45 west with a 1 metre dish.also it depends on if you want to spoil the look of your house ? with a big dish stuck on the wall.

http://www.digital-kaos.co.uk/forums/f4/sorry-chaps-4487/
thats where i put mine , might give you an idea.

portbhoy
14th September, 2008, 07:35 PM
Depends on how deep your pockets are mate, if they are deep then a 1m funke dish with a metal geared darkmotor is a good option, as for LNB's everyone has there own opinion I just use a Lemon universal.

yamar1
14th September, 2008, 07:54 PM
North East here too mate.

The bigger dishes can pick up more sats.

but i got myself a 1m one which is what i wopuld advise you to get.

you can get 99% of sats between 45 east and 45 west with a 1 metre dish.also it depends on if you want to spoil the look of your house ? with a big dish stuck on the wall.

http://www.digital-kaos.co.uk/forums/f4/sorry-chaps-4487/
thats where i put mine , might give you an idea.

Would you recomend motorised? or not?

<--yamar1 added 2 Minutes and 46 Seconds later...-->

Depends on how deep your pockets are mate, if they are deep then a 1m funke dish with a metal geared darkmotor is a good option, as for LNB's everyone has there own opinion I just use a Lemon universal.

Not that deep to be fair, just looking for a starter dish to get me going, can always upgrde later.:)

portbhoy
14th September, 2008, 07:57 PM