PDA

View Full Version : Reading ebooks on DS

Morgan2002
22nd December, 2009, 11:10 PM
Hi there
I feel a bit out of my depth here so hope someone can help me. I'm totally new to all this. I was given a Nintendo DS with Braintraining last Christmas and have hardly used it. I recently learned that I could use it as an ereader. I've bought an R4 SDHC card - it's made of red plastic and says it's a Chrismas Version (yes, that's how it is spelt) which worried me a little but I thought I'd give it a try anyway. I've put dslibris and a couple of ebooks onto the SD card and tried it in the DS but it just sayd 'Loading'. Did I have to do anything else to the card? Sorry, this is probably a daft question but I really wasn't using it for anything else so might as well use it for reading books. Any advice greatly received. Thanks

Anne46
28th December, 2009, 07:14 PM
Hi,

I'm no great shakes at all this myself but as nobody else has replied and I did manage to sort out the same R4 card as you CHRISMAS one I thought I'd try. I've only downloaded games but I assume you'd need the same files and to format the SD card in the same way for ebooks. If you go to R4,R4i-R4isdhc the beta r4 card (http://www.r4isdhc.com/) near the top of the page you'll see R4-Download, click on that then you need to download the R4SDHC Download - R4 English V1.14B - click on the USA download address. You can then drag and drop them onto the micro SD card. However before you do that, you need to format the SD card by clicking 'start' on your PC then 'My Computer', (sorry if that's too basic but just to be sure :D) there you shoud see removable file E. If you right click on that, click on the 'format' option then tick the 'Quick Format' box set the 'File System' to 'FAT' then start. Hope this helps. As I say I've only done it for games.
Anne x

Morgan2002
30th December, 2009, 08:48 PM