PDA

View Full Version : How to change a cloned 7020-Si mac address



rodders
20th September, 2008, 01:19 PM
Hi Everyone

This is my first posting, I have discovered that I have purchased two 'cloned' 7020-Si dreamboxes from a UK site claiming to be selling originals. My problem is that when I try to use the boxes on the same network - one fails to connect.
They both have the same Mac address!

Is there a way to change one of the Mac addresses?
Have tried using the DM-500 fix with an 'init' file in var/etc/ folder but it fails to change anything on reboot.

Any help gladly received

btw. on trying to contact the UK sellers site email - no reply suprise suprise!

Devilfish
20th September, 2008, 01:25 PM
Here are telnet commands to change the mac address...

cd /var/etc
rm init
echo \#!/bin/sh >> init
echo ifconfig eth0 down >> init
echo ifconfig eth0 hw ether 00:09:34:xx:xx:xx >> init
echo ifconfig eth0 up >> init
chmod 755 init
reboot

(replace xx:xx:xx with your own mac address)

rodders
20th September, 2008, 01:59 PM
Hi Devilfish

Thanks for the fast reply, I tried the command lines in telnet (changing the address to my new one) seemed to all be accepted but on reboot of the dreambox the router still shows the same duplicate Mac address.

So no joy, what could it be?
As before I can only telnet into one dreambox.

Cheers

Devilfish
20th September, 2008, 03:58 PM
Have you deleted the entry for the mac in your router config?

Maybe change both macs on both boxes just to test.

rodders
20th September, 2008, 04:21 PM
I have the Router set to Dynamically assign IP addresses, so no Static addresses to delete. I have rebooted the router to see if anything changes - No luck.

satman
20th September, 2008, 04:22 PM
you can do directly do /etc directory on 7020? no?
as in,, not in var

rodders
20th September, 2008, 04:42 PM
Hi Satman

Could you just clarify your last post, not quite sure about it

Thanks

satman
20th September, 2008, 04:50 PM
Hi Satman

Could you just clarify your last post, not quite sure about it

Thanks

look in /etc for init and change it in there....
take a look in it ;)
i.e cd etc and not cd var/etc

in dm7020 openembedded you can write to /usr and /etc directorys outside /var

rodders
20th September, 2008, 05:20 PM
OK I see what you mean, I'll report back Thanks

rodders
23rd September, 2008, 12:19 PM
I've finally had a chance to carry on with trying to change the MAC address of my 'cloned' 7020 dreambox. I've tried editing directly to the etc folder and also going through the var/etc with no luck. Everytime I reboot the box and check the MAC address with the 'arp /g' command in XP command prompt the old MAC address remains. I really need to change one of the 7020 MAC addresses to get them working together.

Any thoughts, the editing of the 'init' file seems to be accepted into the dreambox with no errors during input and the file is being changed.
Is the MAC address I'm using no good? (I've taken it from an old ISDN router that is no longer used)

this is what is shown in the init file.

*!/bin/sh
ifconfig eth0 down
ifconfig eth0 hw ether 00:09:34:e0:f6:a6
ifconfig eth0 up

does it look OK?

Thanks for your continued help

durasoft
23rd September, 2008, 07:06 PM
Hi, Just a thought but did you power down the router and restart it. Ive noticed it keeps my old device mac address in but when restarted it removed them.

Regards Tony

Sorry if this has been already mentioned :unionflag:

fced
15th February, 2009, 05:22 PM
Hello everybody,
i tried to change my DM800 mac address with this procedure, but it haven't worked for me...
i followed the procedure to create init file in /etc
after this chmoded to 755
here is the content of my init file ;
ifconfig eth0 down hw ether 00:09:34:xx:xx:xx
ifconfig eth0 192.168.2.3 up

and rebooted...
Mac Address is the same...
Nothing happened, did i missed something ?
thanks

fced
17th February, 2009, 10:35 AM
may be you need to put the file in /etc/init.d
like this it will be executed at boot...
it have worked for me