PDA

View Full Version : X24C01 read error

pinch
1st February, 2010, 08:54 PM
I am trying to read a X24C01 in circuit with soic clip but keeps getting verifying error.
I use a X-prog T and DIP to SOIC adapter cable.
What am I doing wrong ?

maciupiciu
1st February, 2010, 09:43 PM
while the I2C bus it-s busy U can't take control with a external programmer and read eeprom . U can try to leave I2C bus free, by soldering a wire between Quartz osc pins of MCU

pinch
1st February, 2010, 10:27 PM
How do I find out what pins to short ?
The MCU is a NEC D75P518GF and the radio is a Volvo SC 801

And how do I know when I need to short the Quartz and not ?

Have to try and find a datasheet for that MCU, I suppose.

Thanks for helping me, its my first try with both this equipment and in circuit programing.
Have only used a eeprom programer before.

vares
1st February, 2010, 10:43 PM
Desolder the eeprom and read it - it is the only safe method for a beginner.

pinch
2nd February, 2010, 10:43 AM
I am already familiar with desoldering and reading eeprom onboard, now I want to learn how to do ICP on eeprom, next will be desoldering MCU but then I will have to get a hot air soldering station first.
I have a bunch of old volvo radios to practice on,
so it doesnt matter if I screw up.
Just want to learn.

pinch
4th February, 2010, 08:23 PM
Soo...I ended up desoldering the eeprom cause I couldnt get it to read in circuit.
Now when I put it in the programmer, its all f**ked up.
Question is why...

1. I destroyeed it when trying to read it in circuit

2. I destroyed it when desoldering it

3. It was already destroyed

What do you guys think ?

PremierD
4th February, 2010, 09:00 PM
Soo...I ended up desoldering the eeprom cause I couldnt get it to read in circuit.
Question is why...

What do you guys think ?