Editing the read-only parts of an image - Page 4
Register
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 46 to 60 of 60
  1. #46
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    10
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Ok...
    Thx for tut...
    I have one problem...
    I want to implement OpenVPN in Gemini image.
    I managed to do that on 500+ w.o. problem on Gemini 4.60
    Now I want to do that on dm500.
    Problem is that I need to put some libs in lib dir which is read-only.
    libcrypto.so.0.9.7
    liblzo.so.1
    libssl.so.0.9.7
    and tun.ko in /modules/net
    When I put only liblzo.so.1 and tun.ko, everything is ok db reboots after flashing, but openvpn want start for some ssl problems.
    I figure that problem is with two remaining libs libssl.so.0.9.7 and libcrypto.so.0.9.7 .
    Then I try to put all 3 libs, flash it, but no joy...
    Box do not want to reboot and blank screen.
    Any suggestions?

    Solved , work like charm!!!!
    Last edited by Jeza67; 6th October, 2009 at 11:10 PM. Reason: Solved

  2. #47
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    9
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Hello i have followed the tut but black screen, i'm using ubuntu 9.10 desktop and mksquashfs from tuxbox-cvs
    I have tried it on Gemini 4.2 and Gemini 4.7

    Has anyone a vmware linux image with all the working utilites ?

    any other ideas?

    Thanks

  3. #48
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wizard1 View Post
    Hi Guys

    I too kept experiencing the blank screen issue after following the Devilfish Tut. I found that the problem was down to the wrong mksquashfs file. The one attatched works perfect for me. Put it on my Desktop (Ubuntu) along with the tuxbox-cvs & root directory. The ''./mksquashfs'' is a correct command. A big thanks to Devilfish for an excellent Tut.

    Regards

    Wizard
    I don't know why but i can't download this file. Is there any other place where can i download it??

    Thanks guys

  4. #49
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    40
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Hi GuJack20

    Try again, as I've uploaded it as rar & zip.

    Regards

    Wizard

  5. #50
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wizard1 View Post
    Hi GuJack20

    Try again, as I've uploaded it as rar & zip.

    Regards

    Wizard
    Yeah...i downloaded it.

    Thanks Wizard1

  6. #51
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    11
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    well much better to uncompress the complete image !!!
    write the ROM area not good idea with gemini


    br
    Last edited by ajeeb; 26th January, 2010 at 04:42 PM.

  7. #52
    Member digital-kaos's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    122
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Can this about method to edit the Read only parts be used for all dreambox's or is it only confined to the dm500 ?

  8. #53
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Well - I'm trying to update my busybox on a image (peterPan / gemini etc) I've used for seperate commands in shell - like arp nohup etc.

    But each time I reboot my dm500 - it just goes into blanckscreen and nothing happends.
    I've tried squash the file - with ArchLinux,Debian and the special mksquashfs file earlier in the thread.

    I got no errors etc - so what can I do to make it work - reflashing the image. Is it possible to update busybox in another way ????
    outprint from more /proc/mtd
    Code:
    dev:    size   erasesize  name
    mtd0: 00500000 00020000 "DreamBOX cramfs+squashfs"
    mtd1: 002c0000 00020000 "DreamBOX jffs2"
    mtd2: 00040000 00020000 "DreamBOX OpenBIOS"
    mtd3: 007c0000 00020000 "DreamBOX (w/o bootloader)"
    mtd4: 00800000 00020000 "DreamBOX (w/ bootloader)"
    mtd5: 003e0000 00020000 "DreamBOX SquashedFS"
    mtd6: 00120000 00020000 "DreamBOX Cramfs"
    I've tried almost everything so what can I do - to upgraqde the busybox placed on the image!
    tia
    P

  9. #54
    Junior Member kegsie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    209
    Uploads
    1

    Default

    For some reason my user name and password have changed on my dm800hd clone is there a way to get me back into the box without having to start again ftp comes back with a fault in the user name and password
    Thanks

  10. #55
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    9
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    hi
    I know this is an old thread but its still very relevant. Thank you for the tutorials but i still seem to be having an issue with the blank screen after reboot. I know this seems to be an issue with the mksquhuashfs file and i have downloaded the file earlier in this post. When i try to run it i get denied although i think this has something to do withe the ttuxbox-cvs folder mentioned. I cant find this to put it on the desktop. Any chance someone could point me in the right direction.

    Thanks

  11. #56
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    thanks! I will try this.

  12. #57
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    hi i try this method with edg nemesis 4.4 and gemini 4.7 and have black screen after erase and reboot

    i use mksquashfs from debian squeeze maybe this is wrong ??

    log mksquashfs after edit :
    root@*****:/home/boss/nemesis# mksquashfs root mtd5.img -be -lzma
    Parallel mksquashfs: Using 2 processors
    Creating big endian 3.1 filesystem on mtd5.img, block size 131072.
    lzmadic 131072
    [================================================== ================================================== =========================================] 730/730 100%
    Exportable Big endian filesystem, data block size 131072, compressed data, compressed metadata, compressed fragments, duplicates are removed
    lzmadic 131072
    Filesystem size 4845.15 Kbytes (4.73 Mbytes)
    40.59% of uncompressed filesystem size (11936.32 Kbytes)
    Inode table size 8874 bytes (8.67 Kbytes)
    28.99% of uncompressed inode table size (30610 bytes)
    Directory table size 9614 bytes (9.39 Kbytes)
    59.39% of uncompressed directory table size (16189 bytes)
    Number of duplicate files found 18
    Number of inodes 975
    Number of files 674
    Number of fragments 36
    Number of symbolic links 206
    Number of device nodes 0
    Number of fifo nodes 0
    Number of socket nodes 0
    Number of directories 95
    Number of uids 2
    root (0)
    boss (1000)
    Number of gids 0
    any sugestions ??

    EDIT
    attachment from this topic help me
    http://www.digital-kaos.co.uk/forums...tml#post218934
    What is a max size for mtd5 partition ??
    BR
    BlackAngel82
    Last edited by blackangel82; 26th December, 2011 at 04:13 AM.

  13. #58
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default thanks for the file.

    Quote Originally Posted by badboy123 View Post
    5.29 MB...This transfers across with no problems
    thanks! I will try this.

  14. #59
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    hello to everyone!

    it worked it for me.

    Devilfish thanks, very good post.
    ---------
    i think that the block size value is important in order to work...

    on my pc, mksquash.... gave me...
    Creating big endian 2.1 filesystem on mtd5.img, block size 65536.


    and not :
    eating big endian 3.1 filesystem on mtd5.img, block size 131072.

    thank U

  15. #60
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    4
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    I would like to say THANK YOU MR Devilfish, because i just got sucess trying to add libcrypto to lib folder after read you post.... thank youuuuuuu !

 

 
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •