Bouquets downloadable via Plugin or Script
Register
Page 1 of 8 123456 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 107
  1. #1
    V.I.P. Member SGTFlipFlop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,002
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    97
    Thanked in
    20 Posts

    Default Bouquets downloadable via Plugin or Script

    Is it possible too write a separate Plugin / Script to automatically download the up-to-date bouquets same way as we download the EPG for example if the bouquets are hosted at a private HTTP site?


    I've no experience writing Scripts / Plugins but just wanted to know if it is possible.


    Anyone done something similar or know how to let me know


    Thanks for reading

  2. #2
    DK Veteran
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    799
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SGTFlipFlop View Post
    Is it possible too write a separate Plugin / Script to automatically download the up-to-date bouquets same way as we download the EPG for example if the bouquets are hosted at a private HTTP site?


    I've no experience writing Scripts / Plugins but just wanted to know if it is possible.


    Anyone done something similar or know how to let me know


    Thanks for reading
    I do Linux scripting, so shouldnt be difficult to use some kind of HTTP GET function to download the files and them move them to the correct location for the bouquets and run script using CRON say once a week.

  3. #3
    V.I.P. Member SGTFlipFlop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,002
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    97
    Thanked in
    20 Posts

    Default

    That sounds good, That is exactly what I was thinking about. I had a look at making it myself but have no knowledge in this side of things

  4. #4
    DK Veteran lincsat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,228
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    181
    Thanked in
    137 Posts

    Default

    You can write it into rcS or init to download on boot. You can get a tarball hosted somewhere, then wget the tarball, gunzip and move files to the correct folder - you just have to keep the tarball up to date. It does work

  5. #5
    DK Veteran
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    799
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    a very quick and dirty script I have written in a few minutes . obviously will need to do more work to check from existance of file and other error checking.

    Basically the file is downloaded to the tmp folder, and unzipped to the correct folder where the boquets are stored.

    THIS HAS NOT BEEN TESTED

    #/bin/bash
    cd /tmp
    wget "http://somewebsite.com/boquets.tar.gz"
    tar xzf aboquets.tar.gz -C somedir/

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    26
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    the only problem then would be the regional channels like bbc 1, bbc 2 and itv.

    Unless you stored different versions on the server like an english, welsh and irish one?

  7. #7
    DK Veteran
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    799
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by markj113 View Post
    the only problem then would be the regional channels like bbc 1, bbc 2 and itv.

    Unless you stored different versions on the server like an english, welsh and irish one?
    only way is to have some flag file say in the var/etc folder like eng or wel or ir - and the script can parse the file and determine with region you want to download.

  8. #8
    Top Poster + tw87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    233
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    8
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Glad your asking this mate as I asked on other forums and was told can't be done. Also asked here and was basically flamed because I also asked here as well as the other forum.

    Hope it can be done as your bouquet sets are the best.

  9. #9
    DK Veteran
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    799
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    I will have time this weekend so develop this script on my Linux machine at home and then run it on my DM500S and see what happens .. will use my internal web server to download from as a test.

  10. #10
    V.I.P. Member SGTFlipFlop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,002
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    97
    Thanked in
    20 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jfish View Post
    I will have time this weekend so develop this script on my Linux machine at home and then run it on my DM500S and see what happens .. will use my internal web server to download from as a test.
    Much appreciated mate for the work

  11. #11
    DK Veteran
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    799
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    an update

    over the weekend the little time I had (I was on call) I did write the script and did some testing and all were successful.

    just need to clean it up a bit, especially the last stage of reloading the updates channels list ... at the moment the box has to be rebooted.. will post script later on .. but the script downloads from my internal web server so who ever wants to test script will have to modify it to download from an alternative web server.

  12. #12
    DK Veteran
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    799
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    as promised the script


    #!/bin/sh
    # script to download latest channels lists
    # Tested on Enigma 1 images (DM500s)
    # Jfish 1 Feb 2011


    cd /tmp/
    mkdir bq
    cd bq
    wget "http://192.168.1.10/bq.tar.gz"
    chmod 755 /tmp/bq/bq.tar.gz
    tar -xzvf bq.tar.gz

    rm -rf /var/etc/satellites.xml
    mv /tmp/bq/satellites.xml /var/etc/
    rm -rf /tmp/bq/satellite.xml

    cd /var/tuxbox/config/enigma/
    rm -rf *.tv
    rm -rf *.radio
    rm -rf *.epl
    rm -rf bouquets
    rm -rf services
    rm -rf services.locked

    mv /tmp/bq/* /var/tuxbox/config/enigma/
    rm -rf /tmp/bq.tar.gz
    rm -rf /tmp/bq

    wget -qO - http://root:dreambox@127.0.0.1/cgi-bin/reloadSettings
    wget -qO - http://root:dreambox@127.0.0.1/cgi-b...adUserBouquets
    reboot
    couple of points

    The web server 192.168.1.10 is my internal web server, this will need to be changed

    The above was tested on a DM500S using Pli Jade 3 - should run on other Images - the above script wont run on Enigma 2 images

    the tar.gz file is named bq.tar.gz. If creating the file on a Windows box use IZArc - create as Zip file first and then convert to a tar.gz file

    The box gets rebooted at the end of script

    save script as an sh file (channelreload.sh) and copy it to var/bin (may be different on other images)

    use cron to schedule this to be executed once a day - I have not tested this as yet

    to run it say every tuesday at 2am in the morning the cron command is

    crontab 0 2 * * 2 /var/bin/channelreload.sh

    The command for cron is

    # Minute Hour Day of Month Month Day of Week Command

    so you can change the schedule

    to check for what is scheduled type crontab -l
    Last edited by jfish; 6th February, 2011 at 01:46 AM.

  13. #13
    DK Veteran
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    799
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    see attache file

    by default on the PLi Jade image - cron doesnt start as default, to do so, goto settings, hardware settings and then to services and select cron to start

    once txt file is downloaded, rename extenstion to sh and upload to DM
    Attached Files Attached Files

  14. #14
    V.I.P. Member SGTFlipFlop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,002
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    97
    Thanked in
    20 Posts

    Default

    Had a quick look at it earlier, Does the cron on Pli image need to be started via telnet?

  15. #15
    DK Veteran
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    799
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SGTFlipFlop View Post
    Had a quick look at it earlier, Does the cron on Pli image need to be started via telnet?
    no you do it thru interface

 

 
Page 1 of 8 123456 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.