How to configure Port Forwarding on your router...
Register
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Admin Assistant caveman_nige's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    In my Cave
    Posts
    8,256
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 71 Times in 41 Posts

    Default How to configure Port Forwarding on your router...

    In a typical home networking setup, internet access is through a DSL or Cable modem. That modem may be connected to a router, which is then connected to the networked computers by Ethernet or WiFi. The router is the device that the Internet sees; it holds the public IP address. The computers behind the router, on the other hand, are invisible to the Internet as they hold a local IP address each. Port forwarding is necessary in the router because computers will send information directed to the public IP address and the router needs to know where to send that information.

    Port forwarding allows remote computers (e.g. public machines on the net) to connect to a specific computer within a private LAN.

    This link will take you to the config guide of your router... Yes, you will need to know the make and model number of your router first...

    PortForward.com - Free Help Setting up Your Router or Firewall
    Last edited by caveman_nige; 6th February, 2009 at 02:55 AM.


  2. #2
    Top Poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Say the ports are udp 6000 does that mean the trigger protocol has to be udp or tcp ?

    Say the ports are tcp protocal does the trigger protocal have to be upd or tcp please help !
    Last edited by vtorres; 20th December, 2009 at 03:28 PM.

  3. #3
    Admin Assistant caveman_nige's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    In my Cave
    Posts
    8,256
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 71 Times in 41 Posts

    Default

    gaming and movie streaming use the UDP protocol as it does not require a reply/acknowledgement for the data packet being received as it would congest the data traffic flow giving the data packets a slower transit time and you a poorer internet gaming experience.


  4. #4
    Top Poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    So for all fifa 10 ports tcp and udp they should all end in udp's ?

    Because it says i should enter

    tcp ports : 80,443, 9980-9989, 14500-14559, 42100

    UDP ports : 9570, 3659, 6000

    In my router config i have to enter as so

    UDP / TCP PRTOCAL / PORT RANGE L / R / TRANSLATE TO L / R / TRIGGER PROTOCAL UDP / TRIGGER PORT /

    could u fill in the table with tcp and a udp port for examples please.
    Last edited by vtorres; 20th December, 2009 at 05:22 PM.

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi all

    Can someone advise how i can set-up a ethernet bridge , I have a Netgear Router N150 and a Speedtouch 585 v6. I'm using my Netgear as my wireless router, which is locate upstairs. And I need to connect to the net but my device is only able to connect to the net via ethernet connection. So i was wondering if i could convert my speedtouch to a ethernet bridge and then connect my device to the speedtouch and hopefully connect to the net that. Any advise would be Appreciated.

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default HI ALL

    Thanks a lot,
    this is very useful for me !

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    very very useful the website shows it in full detail

  8. #8
    Newbie IPexpress's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Cramlington, UK
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    With Port forwarding you specify whether the port is UDP, TCP or both. If the ports are well known ports then they are usually associated with either UDP or TCP. I have done a lot of port forwarding when using IP PBXs behind NAT to ensure traffic gets to the PBX on the correct port numbers.
    David
    IPexpress

  9. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hello,
    Is it possible to set up a dvr to veiw cctv over the internet using a 3g dongle and a tp link router.
    thanks in advance

    regards
    Doon

  10. #10
    V.I.P. Member Curious123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,608
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    I do not have a tp link router or a 3G dongle so cannot comment on the exact method for those two devices. I have set up my CCTV DVR so that I can view it on a pc from the internet away from home. I gave the DVR a static ip address and then I set up port forward on my router for the DVR. I found that I had to use a specific port on the DVR which I found from the DVR manual rather then just any port. I also set up dynamic host on no-ip.com to access the DVR across the internet instead of using an ip address.

  11. #11
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    What about the internet attacks that are going on after port is open? What is the solution for that?

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •