Register
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Hi, I'm new to this, pls advise.

Hi everyone, this is my first time purchasing a decoder. and I know nuts about this. I just bought 5 800C, as my friend told me its the latest gadget. I just shifted into my new home, and I tried setting up the box but it can't find any channels. my brother says it's because we don't have the SH antenna, and that's why we can't tune and find channels. I was reading about the satellite receiver,
    i dont how it works and i know u all can give me a more cost sabing solution. I hope there is a solution to this, as my whole family love to watch SH channels. pls advise, thank you so much..

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

cost saving solution*

DK Veteran
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    16 Posts

Where abouts are you ?

And which provider/system are you trying to get ?

The 800C is a cable box whilst the talk of 'antenna' would imply either sat or terrestrial services although some places do use dvb-c in a transmiited form rather than down a cable.

Please clarify.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

hi, thanks for helping.
    I'm in Singapore, and I wanna watch Starhub channels.
    I've even called them as I wanted to just sign up with them.
    but they say I won't be able to watch with their set up box, because my house isn't installed with their cables. i don't know what he meant by that. so I'm guess it's their antenna to get signal from the satellite.

DK Veteran
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    16 Posts

A cable receiver is somewhat different to a satellite receiver.

With sat the signal is broadcast and anyone with a suitable dish/receiver can pick up that signal anywhere within the signal footprint of the satellite.