Guide: Flashing a Dreambox with Dreamup
Register
Page 1 of 56 1234561151 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 836
  1. #1
    Administrator
    Devilfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    /cdk
    Posts
    8,984
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 1,219 Times in 192 Posts
    Downloads
    291
    Uploads
    112

    Default Guide: Flashing a Dreambox with Dreamup

    How Do I Use Dreamup?

    If, for any reason, your box won't boot, you will have to use Dreamup to flash an image instead of Flash Wizard Pro or any other method. You won't be able to connect via ethernet so no ip address is required. It may be that the process simply hung up during flashing or you accidentally pulled the plug half way through (yes it did happen to me). This will get you back on track.

    Required

    • Null Modem Cable (this is NOT the same as a serial or rs232 cable, although it looks the same)
    • Image File (.img) or a (.nfi) file
    • DreamUp Program

    Instructions

    • Disconnect all cables from your dreambox, including the power
    • Connect the null modem cable to the dreambox and to your PC
    • Load Dreamup.exe
    • Click Connect and you will see a message like this


    • Connect the power and the bootloader should be copied to the box
    • The message should now say 'Box attached and Ready'
    • Click Flash on the right hand side and select the image to be flashed


    • Click Yes or Ya (depending on the version)

    Note: If you're flashing a backup image, select NO.
    • The image should then be uploaded to the box
    • There will be a countdown timer at the bottom of the program


    • After the image is uploaded, it will be flashed to memory
    • The finished process should look like this:


    • Click OK and close down Dreamup
    • Power off the dreambox for 30 seconds then power up
    • If any errors appear, check all cables are connected properly and repeat the process but do not use the PC while it's running

    Good Luck!
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by caveman_nige; 7th February, 2010 at 07:16 PM.
    Get Digital Kaos on your Apple or Android device with Tapatalk

  2. The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Devilfish For This Useful Post:

    Ali71 (4th February, 2014),Boost420 (30th March, 2014),BusCan (2nd December, 2015),Chunkee262 (4th May, 2014),donnyvikings (8th November, 2013),flyndance (14th December, 2014),galacollino (5th June, 2013),happyforever (28th October, 2013),ladder 49 (9th September, 2013),ozzy30 (10th June, 2014)

  3. #2
    Newbie wizz240166's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Downloads
    21
    Uploads
    0

    Default flash wizard pro?

    where can i get this from?
    and dd.2.0?

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to wizz240166 For This Useful Post:

    ozzy30 (16th November, 2015)

  5. #3
    thommo
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wizz240166 View Post
    where can i get this from?
    and dd.2.0?
    dream up in the first post and in downloads and the dw (not dd) is in the downloads aswell.

    if you have 5 posts you just have to wait for the forum to update and you will be able to get them.

  6. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    25
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    thanks very handy never got no instructions with my box

  7. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    22
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Excellent instructions exactly what a novice like myself is looking for

  8. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    64
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Thanks mate Im going to have a go at reflashing my Dreambox 600

  9. #7
    Top Poster jake1970's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    surrey
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    38
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    many thanks i must say that you seem to explain things very well ive looked at other sites etc and found some of the guides a bit daunting ,but this is very good
    again many thanks

  10. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Great guide - is it possible to flash using ethernet only?

  11. #9
    Member Mordor1946's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    10
    Uploads
    0

    Thumbs up Flashing Dreambox Image

    Guide looks extremely helpful but at the moment I am having trouble getting a copy of dreamup that works..thanks for info....

  12. #10
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    14
    Uploads
    0

    Default null modem cable

    Where do you get this type of cable and where do you put it in the pc is it the terminal that has I0I0I0?

  13. #11
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    14
    Uploads
    0

    Default Power

    When I connect power nothing happens?

    Any idea...?

  14. #12
    Admin Assistant
    aftermath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5,134
    Thanks
    106
    Thanked 254 Times in 137 Posts
    Downloads
    72
    Uploads
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by glasgowkiss View Post
    Where do you get this type of cable and where do you put it in the pc is it the terminal that has I0I0I0?
    Search on @bay for null modem cable, cost about ?3. and plugs into the back of your PC (you cant go wrong),

    looks like this.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #13
    Admin Assistant
    aftermath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5,134
    Thanks
    106
    Thanked 254 Times in 137 Posts
    Downloads
    72
    Uploads
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by glasgowkiss View Post
    When I connect power nothing happens?

    Any idea...?
    Can you be more specific m8, no light on dreambox? or just a black screen. ?

    if its a black screen sounds like you had a bad flash, try flashing same image again sometimes that works,.

    or go through post 1 again
    Last edited by aftermath; 15th April, 2008 at 04:05 PM.

  16. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Downloads
    27
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    need help again lads. i have connected a null modem cable to dreambox and pc.
    i load up dreamup and press connect. i then turn on the power but nothing happens.
    i am using com port 1 and the default local ip and remote ip. i have also tried to put in my dreambox ip address. but still nothing comes up.

    any help will be welcome.

  17. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Downloads
    27
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    i think i got it. i got a serial lead not a null modem. what a f'ing plonker i really am.

  18. The Following User Says Thank You to animal666 For This Useful Post:

    visj (23rd February, 2014)

 

 
Page 1 of 56 1234561151 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •