WD Passport problem
Register
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default WD Passport problem

    Hi guys went to plug the wd passport in to wd live box all i am getiing is the blue lights flashing can here the drive going just nothing happening keeps on flashing when i plug it into the computer it cant find in the drive sometimes the computer freezes all all my photos are on it eveything was working ok at the weekend.
    cheers for your help

  2. #2
    DK Veteran ontherack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1,085
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 170 Times in 123 Posts
    Downloads
    14
    Uploads
    0

  3. #3
    V.I.P. Member
    DOUGALMCD's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Suburbia
    Posts
    5,680
    Thanks
    1,025
    Thanked 770 Times in 520 Posts
    Downloads
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Have you tried a different usb cable with it? I have one and it was problematic until I got a new cable. hth

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to DOUGALMCD For This Useful Post:

    GastonJ (21st February, 2016)

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    not going to be your usb cable as they are not standard.

    this is a design flaw with the units that can fail out of the blue wont give you a warning it failing
    it just does.

    it might pickup in hardware but not seen in windows and the gb amount will be 0

    going to be a expensive data recovery job not that easy and nope no DIY can do this.

  6. #5
    Top Poster + arky4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    glasgow
    Posts
    208
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Downloads
    13
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mike255 View Post
    not going to be your usb cable as they are not standard.

    this is a design flaw with the units that can fail out of the blue wont give you a warning it failing
    it just does.

    it might pickup in hardware but not seen in windows and the gb amount will be 0

    going to be a expensive data recovery job not that easy and nope no DIY can do this.
    same thing happened to me tried everything lost a lot of stuff if does not show up in my computer its goosed the passport is too
    tempreamental mines never moved from the top of my pc still zero data could not recover anything
    tiger4

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •