virgin superhub 2ac poor wireless
Register
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    276
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default virgin superhub 2ac poor wireless

    Our main virgin router connects via wireless bridge with two Linksys routers, This set up worked perfectly untill Virgin upgraded us with the 2ac model, now the client routers lose connection constantly. I have tried a different settings including the channel but nothing works. I had to register the 2ac which I think deactivated the old superhub so I guess I cant just downgrade by putting it back online? Any ideas?

  2. #2
    V.I.P. Member
    dasteph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    north east
    Posts
    4,248
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 53 Times in 51 Posts

    Default

    switch your superhub into modem only and hard wire to your bridge if possible or to another wifi router.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to dasteph For This Useful Post:

    mikk (6th February, 2016)

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    276
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Hard wire would be best but not the easiest solution, might try modem mode, does the second router connect to the superhub via the wan port?

  5. #4
    V.I.P. Member
    dasteph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    north east
    Posts
    4,248
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 53 Times in 51 Posts

    Default

    no when you switch to modem mode the only ethernet port on the superhub that is in use is the lower port of the four ports then connect the cable to the wan port on the router.

  6. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Hi i know this is an old thread but i too have been having problems with dropouts on superhub 2 would this cure it by putting it in modem mode then hardwire to another router i have my box hardwired to the router but get the dropouts 4-5 times an hour they last for about 30 seconds but it is annoying i belive this is a common problem with the superhub 2 and VM cannot seem to cure it really considering changing provider only problem is i do get good speeds.

  7. #6
    V.I.P. Member
    DOUGALMCD's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Suburbia
    Posts
    5,679
    Thanks
    1,025
    Thanked 771 Times in 520 Posts

    Default

    Try another router then you don't have to use theirs it's up to you to use what you want although keep theirs as they may want it back when out of contract. You will have to contact them though when you put a router in the system so it can be connected on their network.

  8. #7
    V.I.P. Member
    cunny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The Shoutbox
    Posts
    5,215
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 218 Times in 146 Posts

    Default

    Open a cmd window.
    Type ping xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx -t to continous ping the router. Just to check it's not the router. (replace xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx with ip of router)

    If there are no dropouts then change address to say www.google.co.uk

    Check again for drop outs.

    If dropouts are there, and none from your router then the hub could be at fault. Try reset and/or changing ethernet cables
    Last edited by cunny; 3rd September, 2016 at 07:59 PM.

    "Make it idiot proof and someone will make a better idiot."

  9. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Virgin Islands
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default virgin superhub 2ac poor wireless

    Evasive-- Thanks for the response....so youre confirming that a wireless access point will do the trick? Do I just assign the printer an IP address through my router and then install it as a Windows network printer?

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •