Bricked Ford ECU?
Register
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default Bricked Ford ECU?

    Hi all
    Sorry to make my first post a crap one but I bought a KESS v2 kit from ebay and a map file for my ECU, turns out the seller sent me 20,000 map files and stupid me uploaded the wrong one.

    My car is a 2011 Mondeo 2.0 TDCI euro5 with ECU SW Number BG91-14C204-DP
    I uploaded a ford S-MAX SW number BG91-14C204-DF or something like that.

    Fully aware this is my own fault for not reading it correctly before hitting write.

    I have a backup of the original ECU map file but when trying to re-apply it I get 'Cannot read from chassis' and when i try to start the car i get 'ENGINE MALFUNCTION' and it wont even turn over.

    I am unable to find a replacement ECU nearby and am hoping that someone knows a way i can restore the original backup i took.

  2. #2
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    267
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 124 Times in 59 Posts
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    write the ecu on bench whit ori file

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    I'm not sure how id go about doing that, OBD mapping is all i've done so far.

  4. #4
    DK Veteran
    teerak2uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    4,920
    Thanks
    1,120
    Thanked 1,022 Times in 739 Posts
    Downloads
    110
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mylo3k View Post
    I'm not sure how id go about doing that, OBD mapping is all i've done so far.
    Now's the time to learn
    Oh and by the way if my post has been at all helpfull
    please press the little THANKS tab

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Yeah I guessed that much just not seeing much info about it online anywhere, I guess my kess kit isn't the required kit to do it?

    Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    V.I.P. Member
    racin-snake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,358
    Thanks
    334
    Thanked 212 Times in 149 Posts
    Downloads
    21
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    If ECU still coms with scan tool it could possibly recovered by using ford ids software and then module initialization to add to pats
    Today is the Tomorrow you worried about yesterday ......Was it worth it ?

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by racin-snake View Post
    If ECU still coms with scan tool it could possibly recovered by using ford ids software and then module initialization to add to pats
    Is that something I'm likely to get a hold of myself? Obviously dealers are out of the question I can just buy an ECU set for 150 but rather wouldnt obviously.

    Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    V.I.P. Member
    racin-snake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,358
    Thanks
    334
    Thanked 212 Times in 149 Posts
    Downloads
    21
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Probably be better with ecu set as its gonna cost that for a clone ids vcm then learn how to use it plus in code out codes

    but if you know someone with ids it may well be possible . although the used ecu set maybe a better option for you it was only a suggestion

    regards RS
    Today is the Tomorrow you worried about yesterday ......Was it worth it ?

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK WEST YORKSHIRE
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
    Downloads
    65
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    i can help

  10. #10
    DK Veteran
    teerak2uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    4,920
    Thanks
    1,120
    Thanked 1,022 Times in 739 Posts
    Downloads
    110
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Get ktag and write original file
    Oh and by the way if my post has been at all helpfull
    please press the little THANKS tab

  11. #11
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by teerak2uk View Post
    Get ktag and write original file
    I did think about that, is it simple to do?

    Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    DK Veteran
    teerak2uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    4,920
    Thanks
    1,120
    Thanked 1,022 Times in 739 Posts
    Downloads
    110
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mylo3k View Post
    I did think about that, is it simple to do?

    Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
    It's ok but gets easier as you go on plenty of vids on YouTube just don't rush when opening the ECU's
    Oh and by the way if my post has been at all helpfull
    please press the little THANKS tab

  13. #13
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by teerak2uk View Post
    It's ok but gets easier as you go on plenty of vids on YouTube just don't rush when opening the ECU's
    Cool, I'll buy a replacement ECU and then try and fix the other one I guess.

    Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

  14. #14
    DK Veteran
    teerak2uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    4,920
    Thanks
    1,120
    Thanked 1,022 Times in 739 Posts
    Downloads
    110
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mylo3k View Post
    Cool, I'll buy a replacement ECU and then try and fix the other one I guess.

    Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
    Get ktag and try and repair the ECU you have or take care to dealer see if they can do ECU update
    Oh and by the way if my post has been at all helpfull
    please press the little THANKS tab

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •