2010 Kia Sportage 2.0d no start
Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29
  1. #1
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default 2010 Kia Sportage 2.0d no start

    Hi everyone,
    I have a no start problem on a 2010 kia Sportage 2.0 diesel. The car has no fault codes 320bar on the common rail and 280 rpm cranking speed. The injector leak back is acceptable. The car will start and run without issue with easystart and start after running. If it is left any length of time it will not restart.
    I have one injector upturned on the common rail connected up and all other injectors blanked off no diesel spray and no visible voltage trace whilst scoping the injector.
    All fuses and relays test ok.
    New fuel filter, lift pump pressure is within specifications.
    No obvious temperature discrepancy between ambient and measured in real time data.
    Not sure what to test next.
    Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks Russ

  2. #2
    V.I.P. Member
    Liteace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    On a rock
    Posts
    4,453
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 64 Times in 61 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rustynutz View Post
    Hi everyone,

    No obvious temperature discrepancy between ambient and measured in real time data.
    Not sure what to test next.............................................. .................................................. ..........
    Any help would be appreciated.
    compression!

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Liteace For This Useful Post:

    Rustynutz (2nd March, 2021)

  4. #3
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Thankyou for the reply. There is no electrical signal at the injector when I scoped it no trace on the oscilloscope, there is fuel at the injector 300 Bar and good cranking speed. I have one injector removed from the cylinder and connected to the common rail with all other injectors disconnected from the common rail fuel supply but connected to the ECU. there is no diesel spray from the injector. Engine compression should not affect this test, the injector should be opening and delivering fuel.

  5. #4
    V.I.P. Member
    Meat-Head's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Meatheadshire (Between London and Scotland)
    Posts
    31,779
    Thanks
    8,432
    Thanked 5,841 Times in 4,622 Posts

    Default

    Welcome to dk the world best website

    when non start diesel do not crank the shit as if dont start often shut down
    crank 5 seconds. Key off repeat.

    however on this car crank the shit for 30 seconds. Leave ignition on
    plug in scan tool

    Was Banned For Being Certifiably Insane and Stupid

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Meat-Head For This Useful Post:

    Rustynutz (2nd March, 2021)

  7. #5
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    This will give P0336. This car has had 3 crankshaft sensors on for this fault by others the last one was a genuine kia part. I think that the fault is false generated by the PCM due to too long cranking time without starting.

  8. #6
    V.I.P. Member
    Meat-Head's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Meatheadshire (Between London and Scotland)
    Posts
    31,779
    Thanks
    8,432
    Thanked 5,841 Times in 4,622 Posts

    Default

    Too lazy to look but P0336 if was a pub quiz would write “incoherent crank signal”

    ok, unplug that crank sensor plug one of the others in, repeat the experiment
    to see if says “P0335 NO crankshaft signal” (pub quiz answer)

    then plug in crank sensor unplug CAM sensor see if you got one of my favourite
    fault codes of P0340 cam sensor.


    how many miles? More than starship enterprise or less?
    also oil is it like treacle or clean?

    Was Banned For Being Certifiably Insane and Stupid

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Meat-Head For This Useful Post:

    Rustynutz (3rd March, 2021)

  10. #7
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for the reply.

    Crankshaft position sensor A circuit range performance is the DTC I will have to see if the sensor is available it's a colleague's car I'm looking at it at lunchtimes.

    Will unplug cam sensor and test.

    The engine speed in serial data is always 280 rpm (I notice that the rail pressure drops after around 8 seconds of cranking which i assume is the ecu shutting off)

    It's done about 105000 so less than enterprise.

    oil looks normal not sticking to the dipstick.

  11. #8
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Afternoon, Have cranked with the cam sensor removed and no DTC is present using (Foxwell pro) although the MIL light is on, will have to check with laptop and Delphi tomorrow.

    Thanks Russ

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Rustynutz For This Useful Post:

    Meat-Head (4th March, 2021)

  13. #9
    V.I.P. Member
    Meat-Head's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Meatheadshire (Between London and Scotland)
    Posts
    31,779
    Thanks
    8,432
    Thanked 5,841 Times in 4,622 Posts

    Default

    So for experience and exponential reasons

    remove the sealing o ring off the kia sensor and swing on the bolt as you tighten it up

    if you scan scope it would be awesome.

    ONLY IF SAFE, start engine unplug cam sensor see if carry on or dies

    Was Banned For Being Certifiably Insane and Stupid

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Meat-Head For This Useful Post:

    Rustynutz (5th March, 2021)

  15. #10
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Morning,

    I scanned with Delphi and got the same code as previous P0336 Crankshaft position sensor A circuit range performance. Considering for some odd reason now that this is shared ?

    I have checked voltage at pins of cam sensor plug and get expected result Pin 1 12 V Pin 2 5V Pin3 0 V.

    I think will try a cam sensor and see what happens.

    Still got all injectors off the rail and capped off with the exception of one.




  16. #11
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Just bench tested the sensor and it tests ok. pulling down when metal infront of it. So probably not that.

    Going to check crank sensor wiring.
    Last edited by Rustynutz; 5th March, 2021 at 12:12 PM.

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to Rustynutz For This Useful Post:

    Meat-Head (5th March, 2021)

  18. #12
    V.I.P. Member
    Meat-Head's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Meatheadshire (Between London and Scotland)
    Posts
    31,779
    Thanks
    8,432
    Thanked 5,841 Times in 4,622 Posts

    Default

    Fan you scope at ecu?

    Was Banned For Being Certifiably Insane and Stupid

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to Meat-Head For This Useful Post:

    Rustynutz (5th March, 2021)

  20. #13
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Your right it's easier to scope there rather than get to the crank sensor. I have the ECU loose in footwell when checking power.
    Will be Monday now.
    Thanks again for your help.

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to Rustynutz For This Useful Post:

    Meat-Head (5th March, 2021)

  22. #14
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    I managed to back scope the ECU this lunchtime took a while to sort the back probes a bit of 0.8mm welding wire worked pretty good. The Cam sensor looks good, there is only 1V across the Cranksensor I think this is too low. I have attached the waveforms.

    Thinking it could be a sensor distance issue so might have to remove and check the mounting face and the tooth depth if possible.

    Might crank with the ECU disconnected to rule ECU input out first tho.

    Attachment 792021crank1.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images

  23. #15
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Double post don't know how to delete
    Last edited by Rustynutz; 9th March, 2021 at 05:25 PM.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •