Nano help
Register
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Nano help

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    289
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    101
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    7
    Thanked in
    7 Posts

    Default Nano help

    Trying to access config.txt to edit on RPi 2 using Nano 5.5 via ssh for first time. I can't bring up lines or execute commands as the ~# is not there after initial programme login. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    DK Veteran
    toyota123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    386
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    217
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    150
    Thanked in
    91 Posts

    Default

    make sure you are Root...

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to toyota123 For This Useful Post:

    mikk (9th February, 2023)

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    289
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    101
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    7
    Thanked in
    7 Posts

    Default

    I think root access is default but will check.

  5. #4
    Newbie Cheeky3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Posts
    2
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Please note that there is a difference between root and admin.

    If I have understood your question correctly, you'd like to execute a command you need root permissions for, am I right?
    Alternatively to being a root user, you can use the 'sudo' command.
    Hope that helps.

  6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Cheeky3 For This Useful Post:

    mikk (9th February, 2023)

  7. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    289
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    101
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    7
    Thanked in
    7 Posts

    Default

    With this flavour root is default, but thanks.

  8. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2023
    Posts
    12
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I think you have an ssh issue

  9. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2023
    Location
    Oradea
    Posts
    3
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    you could try the following command
    su - root

    this will preserve root paths.
    you sould try it!

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •