Register
Page 533 of 847 FirstFirst ... 33433483523528529530531532533534535536537538543583633 ... LastLast
Results 7,981 to 7,995 of 12705
  1. #7981
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    1
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bg17aw View Post
    0) Is there a way to make a backup of everything before I begin experimenting? Using either the programmer or not
    Yes there is a way using your programmer.

    Step by step:
    1. download the latest avrdude .zip archive (for windows) from here http://download.savannah.gnu.org/rel...rdude/?C=M&O=D at the moment it is avrdude-6.3-mingw32.zip
    2. extract archive
    3. download libusb0.dll driver from here https://www.dll-files.com/libusb0.dll.html better 32-bit i think, place it in folder where you extracted avrdude
    4. open cmd and change directory to folder with avrdude. Put cd and right click to paste your path.
    5. Now make your backup files executing commands as follows:

    avrdude -c usbasp -P com5 -p m162 -b 19200 -U flash:r:backup_flash.bin:r
    avrdude -c usbasp -P com5 -p m162 -b 19200 -U eeprom:r:backup_eeprom.bin:r
    avrdude -c usbasp -P com5 -p m162 -b 19200 -U hfuse:r:backup_hfuse.bin:r
    avrdude -c usbasp -P com5 -p m162 -b 19200 -U lfuse:r:backup_lfuse.bin:r
    avrdude -c usbasp -P com5 -p m162 -b 19200 -U efuse:r:backup_efuse.bin:r
    avrdude -c usbasp -P com5 -p m162 -b 19200 -U lock:r:backup_lockbits.bin:r

    after executing each command you should see something like this:

    1.jpg1.jpg

    In folder with avrdude you now have backup files of your atmega.

    To restore your backup reflash it into your atmega162 proceed likewise but instead :r: for read before the
    filenames put :w: for write. For flash you will give a command:

    avrdude -c usbasp -P com5 -p m162 -b 19200 -U flash:w:backup_flash.bin:r

    Quote Originally Posted by bg17aw View Post
    1) is there a way to enable bootloader?

    I do have a USBASP programmer (but never used it before).

    2) If yes, is the way I connected the 12V supply correct? PIN 4+5 I shorted to Ground, and pin 16 to 12V
    Connections are good. To enable bootloader you need to flash it with firmware kolimer's firmware. Put right firmware files 0x44 or 0x46 (for example Flash1.96_HW_0x44.bin and eepromavr_HW_0x44.bin) in your avrdude folder and proceed with the commands given in the info file from kolimer.
    Last edited by bradzk; 19th March, 2019 at 02:56 PM.

  2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bradzk For This Useful Post:

    0x55c5aa34 (30th June, 2020), bg17aw (19th March, 2019)

  3. #7982
    Top Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    112
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    63
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    16
    Thanked in
    13 Posts

    Default

    Success! Thank you for your incredible contributions! I am now running 18.9.0 and my bootloader is UNLOCKED!

    I suggest the kolimer zip pack should be updated with a bit more help/documentation, like recommending the following config when installing VCDS to avoid lunching vcds.exe instead of Kolimer's loader, please see picture

    I noticed L7805CV is getting incredibly hot even while testing with the plastic covers removed, I can only imagine what happens when the interface is assembled.
    Some sort of cooling might be appropriate.

    I also found out avrdude says something about not being able to set SCK, and recommends updating firmware on USBASP programmer, however, our cheap USBASP do not have jumper 2 to be able to get into firmware update mode. The original one actually has a 3rd jumper as well. If I would be to do this again, I would buy the original (although postage might be an issue)
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by bg17aw; 19th March, 2019 at 03:32 PM.

  4. #7983
    DK Veteran

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    634
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    140
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    195
    Thanked in
    123 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bg17aw View Post
    [...]
    The VID and PID remained the same, 0x403 and AF24

    [...]
    AF24 or FA24?
    If REALY AF24 must reflash FTDI with proper .ept

    Two jumpers removed?

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to liviudiaconu For This Useful Post:

    bg17aw (19th March, 2019)

  6. #7984
    Top Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    112
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    63
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    16
    Thanked in
    13 Posts

    Default

    FA24, sorry.

    Yes, i did remove the two jumpers.

    By the way, when is needed to reflash FTDI as well?

  7. #7985
    DK Veteran

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    634
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    140
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    195
    Thanked in
    123 Posts

    Default

    For K solution never needed. I suggest desolder AES chip. That chip with 2x4 pins in neighborhoud of that 2 jumpers..

    I saw you made tests and test ok.. For Test=OK, driver must installed OK. So..what you done between first test and K upgrade?
    Last edited by liviudiaconu; 20th March, 2019 at 07:01 AM.

  8. #7986
    Top Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    112
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    63
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    16
    Thanked in
    13 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by liviudiaconu View Post
    For K solution never needed. I suggest desolder AES chip. That chip with 2x4 pins in neighborhoud of that 2 jumpers..
    did you see an AES chip on my interface or are you speaking as a general rule? I thought I do not have one

  9. #7987
    Top Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    112
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    63
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    16
    Thanked in
    13 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by liviudiaconu View Post
    I saw you made tests and test ok.. For Test=OK, driver must installed OK. So..what you done between first test and K upgrade?
    I uninstalled the interace from Device Manager and made sure to check "Uninstall driver"

    Then, I installed VCDS again. Drivers worked fine after this

  10. #7988
    Top Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    128
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    20
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    45
    Thanked in
    35 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bg17aw View Post
    I noticed L7805CV is getting incredibly hot even while testing with the plastic covers removed, I can only imagine what happens when the interface is assembled.
    You can replace the L7805CV with an "Adjustable Step Down Power Module" like this:

    https://www.ebay.de/itm/272718624682

    It is pin conpatible and so easy to install / solder in.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to networkers For This Useful Post:

    bg17aw (20th March, 2019)

  12. #7989
    DK Veteran

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    634
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    140
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    195
    Thanked in
    123 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bg17aw View Post
    did you see an AES chip on my interface or are you speaking as a general rule? I thought I do not have one
    Yes, your cable from photos, having 2 jumpers have AES chip too.

    As placement Jumper-AES (2x4 pins) -Jumper.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to liviudiaconu For This Useful Post:

    bg17aw (20th March, 2019)

  14. #7990
    Top Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    112
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    63
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    16
    Thanked in
    13 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by networkers View Post
    You can replace the L7805CV with an "Adjustable Step Down Power Module" like this:

    https://www.ebay.de/itm/272718624682

    It is pin conpatible and so easy to install / solder in.
    Simple for someone with skills, for me it was quite hard to solder a few wires to be able to program the thing... and I already had the programming pins.

    I don't see any pins on that power module, how do you solder it to the board?

    I might try and do it, I think it is getting too hot for a summer drive logging session for example

  15. #7991
    Top Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    128
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    20
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    45
    Thanked in
    35 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bg17aw View Post
    I don't see any pins on that power module, how do you solder it to the board?
    You may use the existing pins from L7805CV by cutting off the 7805 an leave the pins on the PCB.
    Or search for "TO-220 Heatsink" to cool down the voltage regulator...

  16. #7992
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    31
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    23
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    On cable with ATMEGA162, FT232RL, GAL ... the led is OFF (no green no red) when OBD is connected, which chip may not work?
    - on the 7805 there are both 12V and 5V
    - the computer knows the cable drivers
    - LED on cable ALWAYS OFF

  17. #7993
    Top Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    112
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    63
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    16
    Thanked in
    13 Posts

    Default

    I have to say, after updating from 17.1.0 to 18.9.0 I am getting some "Communication Error" errors... I installed 18.9.1 and still get them.
    Randomly and not too often, but I never had a single one while on 17.1

    Is there something I could check/do?

    I did manage to do a full auto-scan, but still a bit concerned.
    Last edited by bg17aw; 20th March, 2019 at 12:46 PM.

  18. #7994
    DK Veteran

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    380
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    218
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    188
    Thanked in
    126 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bg17aw View Post
    Is there something I could check/do?
    Yes, you are using incorrect combination of vcds and loader. Try older 18.9.x releases from your current.

  19. #7995
    Top Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    112
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    63
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    16
    Thanked in
    13 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kaalis View Post
    Try older 18.9.x releases from your current.
    Sorry, what do you mean "from your current" ?

    I did try 18.9.0 and 18.9.1 (the first version, with hash ending in 1108)
    I am not aware of any issues with the loader and 18.9.0

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.