Cheap dreamboxes are they genuine

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • zaf786
    V.I.P. Member
    • Apr 2008
    • 327

    #1

    Cheap dreamboxes are they genuine

    Hi anyone done business with this site some cheap stuff here dreambox
    Wholesale dreambox 7020,dreambox 600, dreambox 500 digital satellite receiver - dream-multimedia-tv.co.uk
  • Evilbert
    Top Poster
    • Sep 2008
    • 114

    #2
    Wow good prices. A quick Whois reveals them to be registered in America, no address or any contact details.

    Comment

    • Devilfish
      Administrator
      • Feb 2008
      • 7872

      #3
      I would stay clear.

      Their About Us page says they've been trading since 1999 but the url was registered in Dec 2007.

      The site is hosted in the US but that doesn't mean their shop is.

      They state their 'office' opening times in Pacific Time which tends to suggest they are in the US. But it's a .co.uk domain and their prices are in GBP.

      If it don't feel right...

      Comment

      • monkeymanmonk
        Newbie
        • Mar 2009
        • 8

        #4
        looks dodgy to me!!!!

        Comment

        • felix1
          Top Poster +
          • Apr 2008
          • 211

          #5
          also all the prices are messed up. the all started at ?180 i think.

          Comment

          • Lyrrad
            DK Veteran
            • Apr 2008
            • 484

            #6
            It's possible to pay via Paypal so there is some protection.



            ps. How long after dispatch should it take from SatSun? I ordered 9th March, dispatch 15th and not real info on tracking number.

            Comment

            • Aldormanndiobla
              Member
              • Aug 2008
              • 54

              #7
              Originally posted by Lyrrad
              It's possible to pay via Paypal so there is some protection.
              Sorry.. I had to laugh.

              Real men have FTTH.

              Comment

              • tonygauci
                Junior Member
                • Mar 2009
                • 22

                #8
                Well Can Anyone Help On THis Then

                I bout my DB7020Si from this site:
                Buy Dreambox 500c, Dreambox 500s, Dreambox 500t, Dream Boxs, Dream Box, Cheap Dreamboxs Guarenteed
                Can anyone tell me if these are Genuin Boxes please? I am new on this line so I need to know if I made a bargain or not cause they are cheeper from this site and deliverd in no time, only took me a week to recieve I live in Europe so that was fast delivery.

                Thank you for any light ou can give

                Comment

                • ps2chiper
                  Top Poster
                  • Aug 2008
                  • 137

                  #9
                  The only way to be protected by paypal is to use your credit card. If paypal can not get the money back from the seller, if they froze his account or he took the money out of paypal. They will not return any money to you. But if you use your credit card, not a debit card. Paypal is responsible for your purchase. Then you can file a charge back with the credit card bank.

                  Comment

                  • ps2chiper
                    Top Poster
                    • Aug 2008
                    • 137

                    #10
                    dvbseller is a clone seller. any dreambox mailed from china is a clone. the only box that are still made in germany are the dm600s. but if you buy a dm600s from the internet, I can guarantee you that it will also be a clone. Right now the factory price is 45 usd for a DM500s and DM500c. The price for a DM600s is 100 usd. The price for a DM7020 is 170 USD. The prices are posted in usd as it is the most stable currency next to RMB. 1 USD is 6.8 RMB and hasn't changed much over the past year compared to the Pound and Euro.

                    Comment

                    • BajanSat
                      Newbie
                      • Mar 2009
                      • 1

                      #11
                      I can't speak specifically about this seller you have linked but I did have a long exchange of emails with a similar Chinese based site selling in the US and the contact admitted that their boxes were made in house.

                      Comment

                      • tonygauci
                        Junior Member
                        • Mar 2009
                        • 22

                        #12
                        Well to be honest from the finish I could tell it wasn't a German made box for sure, in fact that's what I said to myself when I opend it. Well gonna hope for the better now that it will last a bit of time. Thx for the feedback.

                        Comment

                        • bugaloo41
                          V.I.P. Member
                          • Jul 2008
                          • 1598

                          #13
                          To be fair the clones, in the main, are better than the originals. The tuners tend to be much better. You dont get the warranty but at the lower price imo it is a risk worth taking.

                          Anybody used Peng lately - whats his price nowadays with the ? sterling being so poor? Personally found the guy very reliable.

                          Comment

                          • piptaps
                            DK Veteran
                            • Feb 2009
                            • 399

                            #14
                            Chinese clones are the best. they beat the originals by far. DM500 was stopped years back and everything you buy now is a clone in the 500S-C range

                            Comment

                            • sweetballa79
                              Member
                              • Mar 2009
                              • 40

                              #15
                              Originally posted by Lyrrad
                              It's possible to pay via Paypal so there is some protection.



                              ps. How long after dispatch should it take from SatSun? I ordered 9th March, dispatch 15th and not real info on tracking number.
                              I ordered mine on the 16th, dispatched the 18th but it has still not been delivered. I have a tracking number but it does not serve the purpose since it does not track anything. I have been told that the website would only been updated when the parcel has been delivered and signed for!!! Hopefully I will get it next week otherwise I would be really annoyed!!!

                              Comment

                              Working...