Want some cheap software? Think again.

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • xant14
    V.I.P. Member
    • Dec 2008
    • 2062

    #1

    Want some cheap software? Think again.

    Just had a spam email from http://digitalsoftwarebuy.ru
    Had a quick look and some good prices, €74 for Windows 7 Ultimate. Similar prices for MS Office too.
    Unfortunately digitalsoftwarebuy.ru | McAfee SiteAdvisor Software ? Website Safety Ratings and Secure Search
    informs us that it is one of a number of sites ran by Russian criminals with pirate software. And the trusted site certificate is generated by its own server. So just beware if you intend passing out your credit card details to these places...
    Don't be a fool! download from some other dodgy site for free, maybe.
  • Canker_Canison
    V.I.P. Member
    • May 2010
    • 3904

    #2
    If I see anything other than a .com or .co.uk suffix I'm very cautious. A .ru would have me running to the hills.
    Canker

    "Animal, vegetable or mineral... I'll do anything, to anything, with anything"
    - The Baby Eating Bishop of Bath & Wells
    [COLOR=Green]

    Comment

    • smeeg
      Newbie
      • Jun 2010
      • 2

      #3
      That's scary stuff!

      Comment

      • dik
        DK Veteran
        • Apr 2009
        • 955

        #4
        What's scarier is actually paying for software, I have never found the need to pay for any ever!
        sigpic another happy customer

        Sent from my keyboard using fingers to type

        Comment

        • pantomime horse
          DK Veteran
          • May 2010
          • 478

          #5
          true
          free is definately the best price

          Comment

          Working...